Raving: Centergy Yoga/Pilates at the YMCA

Hello from the Land of 10,000 Lakes! I’m on vacation in Minnesota this week, and while I hope to pop in periodically, I’ll mostly be attempting to move my most viewed posts from my old blog to here. Hope you enjoy the trip down memory lane!

This post was originally published on February 21, 2012.

Last night I was complaining to the Boyfriend that I had to shower and he was trying to tell me that there was no harm showering in the morning and it would be fine. However, I have a system.

Boyfriend: Shower in the morning.

Me: No. Then I have to get up earlier. So I will want to nap in the afternoon and I won’t make it to the gym. Or I will be all showered, so I won’t want to go to the gym and get sweaty again.

Boyfriend: This sounds like a spiral.

Me: It is. I know how my brain works so I have to head it off. Half the time the only way I talk myself into showering is because I’m sweaty. Sometimes not even then.

Boyfriend: *Sigh*

[This was actually over Facebook, but I imagine he sighed, like all, Oh Maddie…]

Do you have to trick yourself into working out too? It’s not like I don’t enjoy working out! I just know myself too well to assume I won’t make excuses. Excuse today: I’m too sore. BUT this was kind of legit…because I took a yoga class on Wednesday!

Group Centergy is a class offered at the Y that is supposed to be a mix of Pilates and yoga. It’s usually an hour long, but they offer a noon class that lasts 45 minutes. I decided to hit it up the other day.

When I walked in, I was immediately surprised because A) the class was only me and 3 other women (probably because it was a quick noon class) and B) the instructor was a big ripped dude. I soon found out tho that while he was a dude, he was a fab teacher. Very soft spoken and gentle like you’d imagine a yoga instructor to be. Shame on me for jumping to conclusions!

The main difference I found in this class vs. other yoga classes I’ve been to was the music. Centergy used more upbeat remixes of songs rather than the yoga type music you usually hear in a studio. It was kind of a nice change, and the music still totally fit what we were doing (one of the cool down songs was If I Were A Boy by Beyonce, so some songs were still slower and more laid back, just pop songs instead of yoga-y).

I was in NO WAY disappointed by the class (my shoulders, arms and armpits are screaming today; it’s so awesome. Think I’m on my way to Jillian Michael’s arms? 😉 ), but I wouldn’t say it’s an equal mix of Pilates and yoga. It seemed more medium-high flow yoga, with a bit of Pilates (we did a couple ab moves that I would say were more Pilates than yoga, but that was about it). Personally, I was supa cool with that–the yoga flow was intense!

This class was different from yoga classes or DVDs I’ve done before because we really didn’t hold poses very long. We’d do a pose and hold it for a few seconds, then switch sides, hold, then repeat about three times. I really liked that! I was definitely still getting a good stretch, but it was a different kind of challenge on my muscles. I was still sweating five minutes in to the class, had to drop into child’s pose to relax a few times and was shaking by the end…I call that a success.

The greatest thing about yoga? First let me back up…I’ve been having hip problems for probably the last three months. It’s. Been. Miserable. I have no idea what I did, but I’ve made about 4 trips to the chiropractor trying to fix it and I’m still not back to normal. It’s super frustrating because I’m 20 years old and I feel like I have arthritis!

Because of this, I’ve had to cut back on exercise once and a while. When I do that I just make sure I’m eating well and doing everything else the healthy way (finding other ways to handle stress, getting plenty of sleep) so I don’t get way out of shape or wigged out, but I’d rather be able to not worry about what kind of exercising I’m doing. Needless to say, I haven’t ran in MONTHS. This isn’t a huge deal as I’m not running’s #1 fan, but it’s still supa dumb. I was excited to join the Y because I’d have different cardio options, including SWIMMING, which is joint-approved. YAY!

As it turns out, yoga is also joint approved. I kid you not, the minute I got back on my feet after yoga yesterday, my hip stopped hurting. I literally stopped walking and looked down at my hip (as if I was expecting it to look different…?). I kinda hopped a little bit and moved it up and down (it was really attractive, I assure you) to make sure this was really happening. It seriously didn’t hurt! Even when I walked up stairs later that day (which usually hurts the joint) and down this ramp at my dorm (when my hip juts out I get a pain, too) NOTHING HURT. I was so happy I wanted to cry. Anyone who has had an annoying, painful injury for too long can tell you when the pain is finally gone, you are like holy sh*t this is so much better now! (Sorry, but seriously)

Today I’m back to being a little sore, but at least now I know something that will help with the pain. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. I also have a Deal of the Day coupon (think Groupon, but in Sioux City) I bought forever ago for a massage that I plan to redeem soon, so that should help even more. Oh, happy day.

Have you ever had to modify your workouts for an injury? What do you do? Do you have to sometimes trick yourself into working out, or make it so you can make NO excuses? 🙂

BTW…sorry this post is picture-less. That’s supa boring. I’ll step up my game.

Leave a comment. All the cool kids are doing it.

