Raving: TurboFire Greatest HIITS

Hello from the Land of 10,000 Lakes! I’m on vacation in Minnesota this week, and while I hope to pop in periodically, I’ll mostly be attempting to move my most viewed posts from my old blog to here. Hope you enjoy the trip down memory lane!

This post was originally published on September 1, 2011.

Good morning!

I’ve been in such a whirlwind lately, but I’m happy to report I’m back at school and in the swing of things. Of course the first week may prove to be one of my busiest of the year. Convenient.

I’m kidding. It’s super inconvenient.

So guess what? I owe you all a review. Are you excited!?

A few weeks ago, I purchased TurboFire Greatest HIITs.

[Source]

I’m super interested in purchasing the TurboFire package, but I obviously have no idea what they are like (how the instructor teaches, what is the feel of the program, etc.) so I wasn’t ready to drop over $100 blindly. I thought this would be a great way to get a sneak peak of the program.

Somewhere along the way, I got in contact with Rose. She’s essentially been mentoring me through my discovery of the Beach Body system because she is a Beach Body instructor. Basically, Rose rocks. She’s been there to answer all of my questions along the way. It’s been sooo helpful.

After I received TurboFire in the mail, I did what I typically do when I get new workout DVDs: I didn’t do it. I’m always so nervous to start new programs, even (and sometimes especially!) from the comfort of my own house. I don’t know why. It’s probably because I’m weird.

Yes, that’s probably it.

When I finally gained the courage to pop in the DVD and get my workout on, I was not disappointed. However, I also got my behind handed to me. Chalean means business!

[Source]

The woman is a beast.

Chalean is awesome. She is super high energy and motivating, she talks just enough through the workouts (which is amazing in itself because I could barely breathe let alone get out a full sentence) and SHE DOES ALL THE MOVES WITH YOU. The Boyfriend did Insanity [for one day] a few years ago, and he would get so mad because the instructor wouldn’t do all the moves, but he’d be all “Ohmigosh this is so hard, feel the burn.” Annoying. Chalean keeps it real.

As far as this video specifically, I’m a fan. It’s a fast workout (about 22 minutes) but you are sweating and out of breath within the first five minutes. It’s very much High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT! Get it!?), which seriously does a body good:

A HIIT workout offers myriad benefits.  First, HIIT provides a great workout for your legs.  If you perform HIIT a few times per week, you probably don’t even need to do strength training for your legs, unless you have a desire for bigger legs.  More importantly, HIIT really ramps up fat burning.  The intense intervals allow for the release of fatty acids into the bloodstream.  Additionally, HIIT results in increased HGH levels.  HGH is a hormone that burns fat while preserving muscle.  Finally, and possibly most importantly, HIIT results in EPOC, an after-burn effect which causes you to burn calories for hours after your workout is completed.

[Source]

With that being said,  this is not a video one should probably do every day. HIIT is a great way to train your body, but you can easily overtrain. Just make sure you know what your body is capable of before you overwork yourself! Greatest HIITs would make a great addition to a weeklong workout routine. Personally, I’m hoping it increases my endurance so I can start running again without sucking (which is an entirely other blog post…).

After doing Greatest HIITs, I’m definitely interested in buying the whole TurboFire package. Right now I’m just paying very close attention to my finances since I don’t want to end up as pressed for cash as I was last year, so it’s on the back burner for now.

Leave a comment. All the cool kids are doing it.

